On the Suffering of Violence

And from the days of John the Baptist until now the kingdom of heaven suffers violence, and the violent take it by force. Matthew 11:12

I heard a voice say to me, “Everything will be used against you.” Later, while sitting at my vanity table I considered those words for a time and then from my make up drawer, I chose a dark purple eye pencil and wrote them down on the glass top of my vanity table -“Everything will be used against you.”  I considered them again.

Were these words of an attempted scare-tactic by the enemy, or were they a warning from the Lord in how thing were going to go for me, a kind of prophecy?  I did not like they way the words sounded in my head as I considered these options. I did not like the sound they made or the ominous sense of fear that seemed to rise from them. Uncertainty, the fear of the unknown. I didn’t like that word “everything” and what did that mean, exactly? Again, I looked at the words I had written in my own script, the color of purple eye liner now looking more like black, and thought how fittingly so that color! Still, one part of me did not like those words, yet another part of me seemed to draw a strange kind of strength from them.  I got up and walked out of my walk-in closet, snapping off the light as I went, leaving those words to themselves in the darkness.

This morning I read a post written by a dear friend Line Drawn in the Sand. The opening words seemed to be so profound and I wondered,“wow, why can’t I write things that say that?” As I read, I began to laugh out loud, because I realized they were my words.

“…will you be a follower of man, or will you risk all – your ministry, your reputation, your friendships, and one day maybe even your very life to follow Christ? These are becoming perilous, dangerous times to be called by His name.”

This was a question I had posed in 2009, when I first set up my blog, “M’Kayla’s Korner”.

Then and there I was hit with the impact of all that has happened in my life over the last six weeks or so, and again I wondered at the prophetic sound of my words and the words uttered from the voice, “Everything will be used against you”.

I read the words of my Lord and coming from Him, somehow it all seems to make better sense, at least for this moment.

Matthew 10:34 Do not think that I came to bring peace on the earth. I did not come to bring peace, but a sword.  

35 For I have come to set a man against his father, a daughter against her mother, and a daughter-in-law against her mother-in-law, 36 and a man’s enemies will be those of his own household.

37 He who loves father or mother more than Me is not worthy of Me. And he who loves son or daughter more than Me is not worthy of Me. 38 and he who does not take his cross and follow after Me is not worthy of me.

39 He who finds his life will lose it and he who loses his life for My sake will find it.

13 thoughts on “On the Suffering of Violence

  1. A friend of mine once said “Rejection is a baptism … accept it”. I’m not sure if it’s necessarily “scriptural”, but I’ve found it to be true nonetheless. And it’s at those times that you find who the True friends are …. and the Favor of God is unmatched.

    Be Blessed, knowing that you are not alone,
    Kevin Kleint
    http://www.honorofkings.org

  2. I never thought 30 yrs ago that I would live to see what I’m seeing today. I remember clearly after Hal Lindsey’s first book The Late Great Planet Earth came out that we all thought the rapture was right around the corner. Sometimes I wonder how much more will we see before He calls us up to meet Him in the clouds?

    In any event, we are witnessing the fulfillment of bible prophecy right before our eyes – from apostasy in the church, to lawlessness abounding, to the love of many growing cold. The bible is 100% accurate and trustworthy. Hang on to it with and for your life.

  3. The more i walk this thing out the more serious it gets. To listen to the warnings of the Holy Spirit or the accusations of the enemy…….either way i know it is a battle. The battle is won but i have to stay submitted to His plan…..So many distractions and so many desires for achievement can clout the simple truth that i do not belong to myself. The world would tell me that i have given up and i have no life….and i pray to God that my life remains hidden in Him, my King Jesus Christ. It reminds me of the scripture where we are told not to think of what we will say when we are taken before the magistrate…..that the Holy Spirit will give us the words to say….My problem at times is getting there and not telling them what “I” want to say!! lol so i am still a work in progress. We have to trust Him because it is getting more risky everyday to be a desciple of Christ, in and out of some church buildings. God be with all of us….anne

  4. I had the same initial thought as Anne:

    “When you are brought before synagogues, rulers and authorities, do not worry about how you will defend yourselves or what you will say, for the Holy Spirit will teach you at that time what you should say.”Luke 12: 11-12

    And also, “If the world hates you, keep in mind that it hated me first. If you belonged to the world, it would love you as its own. As it is, you do not belong to the world, but I have chosen you out of the world. That is why the world hates you. Remember the words I spoke to you: ‘No servant is greater than his master.’ If they persecuted me, they will persecute you also. If they obeyed my teaching, they will obey yours also.” John 15: 18-20

    I think the word “Everything” in what the voice said is very significant and it’s already happening. God and Christians are being blamed for everything from natural disasters to priest child abuse thanks to an apostate church that covers up sin and “prophets” who claim to predict earthquakes and hurricanes as “God’s wrath upon the earth”.

    God’s love is also being twisted by those who claim to speak for Him, to be used against the unsaved and undermine those of us who preach repentance. Jesus went on in John 15:22 to say, “If I had not come and spoken to them, they would not be guilty of sin. Now, however, they have no excuse for their sin.” But have you read the latest post from Bob Jones, “Faith that Works by Love”? Sounds lovely, doesn’t it? Well, sandwiched in the middle of all the “Love” exhortations is this little vile of poison, “The love of the Father is without condemnation because it is with full acceptance of the sinner’s sin.” Read it here: http://www.bobjones.org/Docs/Words%20of%202011/2011-12_Faith_By_Love.htm

    So why repent? Just let Him love you, right?

    The devil’s methods of operation are still the same… lies, deception and twisting scripture. Continue to follow Jesus’ example in dealing with these things. The truth will not only set you free, but others too! Keep telling the truth and exposing the lies as He leads you.

  5. The book of Hebrews says the Lord disciplines those He loves. If our Christian road is too easy, we may want to do some reflection on that.

    The Lord is sovereign in all things and He uses all things to accomplish His will, which is to make us more like Christ. When we look at the lives of the first disciples we realize that ultimately our lives should look similar to that……and sadly most of our lives don’t, especially mine.

    Most of us have heard all of our Christian lives that God promises us blessings….while that’s certainly true, how many of would say that a “blessing” would include being crucified upside down (like Peter) or being beheaded by crazy Nero (like Paul) or even being bashed to death with big rocks (like Stephen)…..the thing is, they WERE blessed and highly favored by God and ultimately were thankful to be chosen for such an honor. These weren’t attacks by the devil (like so many of us are told), but were sovereign choices by God.

    This is such a far cry from what almost all of us in the modern American church are experiencing……so far from even what I want, which is peace and comfort in this life.

  6. My experience has been that ‘everything you say can and will be used against you’ is the culture of the charismania/false prophetic (and a bit of actual paranoia thrown in), when someone leaves the movement.

    My husband and I used to joke after we left the aforementioned, when we would be fellow shipping with others and maybe someone was in ‘vent’ mode, that ‘everything you say will NOT be used against you.’

  7. You know how when you’re driving and you see a crazy driver, maybe a drunk or whatever, you know how easy it is to call 911 to report them? Well I see the same thing e v e n t u a l l y happening to people calling in on Christian fish symbols on the back of cars. Or bumper stickers advocating anything Christ centered at all.

    That’s kind of getting off the point, but you know where I’m coming from?

  8. Pingback: Another Absence | m'kayla's korner

Let's hash it -

