Prayin’ Like a Child

Today as I waited at Midas having the front brakes on my Jeep replaced, I started to read a chapter from The Complete Works of E.M. Bounds. No, it’s not a nice light book to drag around but I find it very interesting and safe to read in light of today’s more modern liars and new thought. (Or maybe it’s old thought, repackaged. hmmm, let’s not go there now.) 

But listen to what E.M. says on pages 343-4, taken from the chapter, Jesus Christ, An Example of Prayer:

Jesus Christ prayed to God as Father: Simply and directly did He approach God in the charmed and revered circle of the Father.  The awful, repelling fear was entirely absent, lost in the supreme confidence of a child.

Christ prayed as a child. The spirit of a child was found in him.  At the grave of Lazarus “Jesus lifted up His eyes and said, Father.”  Again we hear Him begin His prayer after this fashion” In that hour Jesus rejoiced in spirit, and said, I thank thee, O Father.” So also on other occasions we find Him in praying addressing God as His Father assuming the attitude of the child asking something of the Father. What confidence, simplicity and alertness!

What respect deepening into reverence!  We must live as children if we would ask as children.  We must act as children if we would pray as children.  The spirit of prayer is born of the child spirit.

An appeal to God the Father, if not associated with reverence and homage before the Divine Majesty, would betray a want of understanding of the character of God.”  And, we might add, would show a lack of the attributes of a child.

What amazing wording he writes with, how compelling.  I read and re-read his words as I sat there completely immersed in such gem of truth, such freedom and Christian realism.  I know that God is the Father, our Father, and I refer to Him that way.  But as I read and contemplated these words, this truth, I began to realize I did not approach Him in such a “supreme confidence”.   As I continued to think on this, I realized I always expect less for myself than for others.  I may think I ask in faith, claim I ask in faith, but do I?  I do not. I still see myself as the one who lost out on”, having had a life full of many disappointments.  Many in this word do, I am not alone, and some more than I could even imagine.  But, was I getting the things I asked for? No.  I hadn’t been expecting them too much. And on the other end of this I came to realize I have been the one holding out on myself, that I deny myself certain things and allowances that others seem to attain so easily.  Outwardly I did not take this on to most, but what of those who truly know me? God looks at the heart, does He not?  I had not been approaching the Father God as a child approaches a father, not at all. Not according to these words.

A mechanic’s waiting room is an odd place for emotional repenting, such as this!  Just try to hold those tears!!!

Even now as I type words of this blessed author and as I read them, again they pull me back in.  The choice of the author’s wording is so profound.  They reflect another time long ago when people spoke differently, reacted differently to God and to their fellow man…charmed and revered circle of the Father…respect deepening into reverence…

Who writes this way these days?  How far removed is not only the wording, but the heart intent of today’s loud, obnoxious and demanding people? After the last few days of conversation of the emergent church, the deception of Charismania, here, I am reminded anew of how truly distict Christianity is. What other religion could possibly offer such things as God the Father has offered and provided to those He calls children, to those He longs for to call Him Father.

If it is at all possible for a Christian to have been born again again, today would have been IT for me.

Blessed be the name of the Lord God. His name is Holy.

  • For similar reading on the prayers of Jesus go here
4 thoughts on “Prayin’ Like a Child

  1. I love E.M. bounds. It has been years since I have read him. Maybe i need to get him back out. The classic books from decades ago, truly are the only ones worth reading.
    I’ve had many times where I have felt born-again again. something tells me in the days to come we will really be learning how to pray!

    Like

  2. This is so timely. My word study this week is “prayer/praying”. I love how the Lord’s prayer begins with “Our Father”. The word for Father here, I believe, is another word for poppa or daddy. That is so awesome because that is what I call Him anyway. What an amazingly loving and gracious Poppa we have and share. Thanks for the post, M’Kayla.

    Mic

    Like

  3. this was extremely helpful to me today…I too shed tears…the fact that the way, where there was no way….is now open – the veil now torn – into the very throne room of grace – we can speak to our Heavenly Father and make known to Him our heartbeat – which He already knows. we can join with Him in the kind of communion that we have with a loving Father and trust Him with all our innermost thoughts and concerns. what an amazing privilege we share to come so close by just “being” with Him – heart to heart. Jesus taught us by example to seek the Father and made the way by His atoning sacrifice…Praise the Lamb of God!!!! fellowship now/relationship always – eternal life in Christ! Amen. blessings Mary ❤

    Like

Let's hash it -

