Dominion and the Rule of Adam

When Adam sinned at “the fall”, he handed his dominion and his power to rule the earth over to Satan.

This is the claim made by Dominion and Kingdom Now doctrine supported by the New Apostolic Reformation (NAR)/Word of Faith teachings.

Is it true? I’ve thought about this quite a bit since it was brought to my attention. I’ve heard this claim by Cal Pierce, International Association of Healing Rooms; Bill Johnson, Bethel; and Cindy Jacobs, Generals International. I am sure there are others who teach it. So, I’ve considered it, read commentaries and searched the word.

It is important for us to understand the rule Adam was given, and the extent of his dominion given to him by God.

The rule of Adam-

Genesis 1:26 Then God said, “Let Us make man in Our image, according to Our likeness; let them have dominion over the fish of the sea, over the birds of the air, and over the cattle, over all the earth and over every creeping thing that creeps on the earth”. 27 So God created man in His own image; in the image of God He created them. 28 Then God blessed them, and God said to them “Be fruitful and multiply; fill the earth and subdue it; have dominion over the fish of the sea, over the birds of the air, and over every living thing that moves on the earth.”

Clearly, the dominion given to man is over the fish, the birds, the cattle, things that creep; everything that moves.

Genesis 2:7-8 And the Lord God formed man of the dust of the ground, and breathed into his nostrils the breath of life; and man became a living being. 8 The Lord God planted a garden eastward in Eden, and there He put the man who He had formed.

v15 Then the Lord God took the man and put him in the garden of Eden to tend and keep it. 16 And the Lord God commanded the man, saying “Of every tree of the garden you may freely eat; 17 but the tree of the knowledge of good and evil you shall not eat, for in the day that you eat of it you shall surely die.”

So we have the creation of Adam, his placement in the garden of Eden and his work to tend and keep it. In addition is the command from the Lord God all the trees he may eat of, and the one tree he could not, along with the dire consequences if he so chose.

Notice there is no mention of spiritual authority or rule given to Adam. There was no need for it as the Lord God walked with Adam in the garden during the cool of the day. (3:8)

Genesis 2:18 And the Lord God said, “It is not good that man should be alone; I will make him a helper comparable to him.” 19 Out of the ground the Lord God formed every beast of the field and every bird of the air, and brought them to Adam to see what he would call them. And whatever Adam called each living creature, that was its name.

God brought the animals before Adam so that he could name them.

v 21 And the Lord God caused a deep sleep to fall on Adam, and he slept; and He took one of his ribs and closed up the flesh in its place. 22 Then the rib which the Lord God had taken from the man He made into a woman, and He brought her to the man.

So, the creation of Eve, although not yet so named.

Adam does not create or declare or decree anything. He speaks nothing into existence. He was created by God, as was Eve, and given rule over the living things on the earth.  The word is very clear on Who the Creator is, and who is the created. Adam and Eve were simply gardeners in a very beautiful place, having a face to face relationship with their God who created them. I doubt they had much confusion on that issue. The main point here  –  relationship with God – let’s not miss out on that.

In Chapter 3 is the very sad deception of the serpent and the fall of mankind. The serpent, Satan, already a known usurper and deceiver to the Lord.

Isaiah 14:12-15 How you are fallen from the heaven, O Lucifer, son of the morning!  How you are cut down to the ground, You who weakened the nations! 13For you have said in your heart; ‘I will ascend into heaven, I will exalt my throne above the stars of God; I will also sit on the mount of the congregation, on the farthest sides of the north; 14 I will ascend above the heights of the clouds, I will be like the Most High’. 15 Yet, you shall be brought down to Sheol, to the lowest depths of the Pit.

Luke 10:18 And He said to them, “I saw Satan fall like lightening from heaven”.

Now, I am not sure when exactly Satan was kicked out of heaven. I don’t know if anyone has that answer, whether it was before the creation of man, or after. The point is, he was kicked out and is now a fallen being.

John 8:44 “You are of your father the devil, and the desires of your father you want to do.  He was a murderer from the beginning, and does not stand in the truth, because there is no truth in him. When he speaks a lie, he speaks from his own resources, for he is a liar and the father of it.

I will leave you to read Genesis 3 on your own as I will only pull out pertinent verses to make the point.

3:14 So the Lord God said to the serpent” Because you have done this, you are cursed more than all cattle, and more than every beast of the field; On your belly you shall go, and you shall eat dust all the days of your life. 15 And I will put enmity between you and the woman and between your seed and her Seed; He shall bruise your head, and you shall bruise His heel.

You will notice in the verses prior, God calls out to Adam and asks him what he has done. This is not the case with the serpent as God did not call to him, or question him, He simply imposed the curse —done. Verse 15 is the first prophecy for the Messiah, Jesus Christ. Even then, God had prepared a way for us to resume our relationship with Him.

Verse 16 is the curse on the woman which I won’t go into.

Verse 17 Then to Adam He said, “Because you have heeded the voice of your wife, and have eaten from the tree of which I commanded you, saying, ‘You shall not eat of it’ : Cursed is the ground for your sake; in toil you shall eat of it all the days of your life. 18 Both thorns and thistles it shall bring forth for you, and you shall eat the herb of the field. 19 In the sweat of your face you shall eat bread till you return to the ground, for out of it you were taken; for dust you are and to dust you shall return.

In verse 24 God drove Adam and Eve out from the garden.

There is no swapping of power or dominion or rule from Adam to Satan. The dominion over the fish, the birds, the animals, etc. was given to Adam by God while he lived in the garden. When he sinned he was stripped of his rule and his dominion in the same way Lucifer was stripped of his place in the heavens at the time of his fall when he claimed to ascend the throne of the Most High.

Adam possessed the dominion and rule that was given to him by God, nothing more. He had no authority to give it away. I find it hard to believe he would hand it over to the evil, fallen being that he himself had fallen prey to. For Adam to do such a thing would seem he would have been in agreement with Satan.

Notice also God did not hand dominion over to Satan! We have a fallen state of creation, man and beast. Satan has been given permission to deceive and to wander throughout the earth. While the earth and all in it may be under the sway of the evil one, he is a liar and the father of lies, even his authority is limited.

As there is no basis for a “dominion hand over” found in scripture, we must question where this very popular teaching originated. If not from scripture, where? And that being the case, why do so many continue to be deceived by it?

It stands to reason those following the NAR and the teachings of the seven mountains prophecy buy into this as it gives them reason to “take dominion of the earth” from the very hands of satan. It must provide them a place of great power and authority to believe they can accomplish such a thing.

27 thoughts on “Dominion and the Rule of Adam

  1. Pingback: Jesse Duplantis – Adam, Not God Breathed Life Into Animals « m'kayla's korner

  2. Doesn’t this teaching make you shake your head with absolute astonishment? I just wonder whether these people are stupid or deliberately deceptive? Then again, I also wonder why people in their “congregations” don’t object.

    Then you realise their little tricks of not encouraging the Word as a regular discipline in their life and the gentle and subtle techniques of ensuring their trust is given to the leaders and is drawn away from God.

    Interesting that Luke 4:6 says, “And the devil said to Him, ‘All this authority I will give You, and their glory; for this has been delivered to me…'”. However, it has to do with the fact that in sin, men serve Satan. In the evil deeds of humanity, Satan rejoices. His time is short and because of his pride he does not realise it and he walks around proudly.

    But the wondrous thing is this: God has not relinquished control! He is still completely and utterly sovereign and the time is coming when it will become very evident that He is the omnipotent God of the Bible. Yet it will not be because of us that this happens – we will not have physically stripped it from Satan – God will. He will do it as it please Him and He will do it to His glory not ours. Praise God

    Like

  3. Hi MK,

    As I was reading this, I indeed thought of that nonsense that Jesse DuPlantis promotes from your other article. I think that ranks up there as some of the most preposterous things ever uttered. Maybe the most rank, blasphemous thing I’ve heard was Copeland’s “God told me it could have been me providing the atonement on the cross”. Anyway, yep, the classic Word Faith modus operandi – take a verse or passage and fabricate a completely different story out of it, to support your twisted agenda, often with no boundaries on how outlandish it can be. Classic WF says Adam was like God in every way, a God-being, that handed dominion over to the devil. So when you accept Christ and become “saved”, you retake your dominion…and regain your divinity. Hence, the speaking out things, speaking things into existence, power in words, faith as force for God to act, positive confession (of health and wealth), and so on.
    I am absolutely flabbergasted and without words as to how honest sincere Christians, even pastors, accept this into the world of true Christianity. Good post.

    Like

  4. Hi sister. I think you’re obviously right concerning the fact that there is no scripture that states that satan stole Adam’s authority to rule the earth, or that he gained it by default.

    Yet, what explanation do we have for the fact that the Bible calls satan the “god of this world”, who “deceives the whole world”, “ruler of this present darkness”, etc.. ?

    Did satan have this status before the fall?

    Like

    • Ian – hi.

      I don’t think the connection is there. Satan is a deceiver and his authority stems from that alone. I don’t think he has any more authority than to be that very thing. Not the same as Adam and Eve, their relationship with God, with each other and their rule over the earth. I just do not see it in the same sense the hyper-charismatics claim it to be.

      We aren’t told of Satan’s status before the fall, only who he was as Lucifer and his intent to ascend the Throne of God because of his pride. Before Adam and Eve came along there was no one else to deceive for us to know.

      Like

      • Hi sister.

        Eph 6:12 For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers/authorities, against the rulers of the darkness of this world, against spiritual wickedness in heavenly places.

        Certainly, before the fall, satan had no people to rule over. But after the fall he soon got a lot of subjects to rule over.

        We know that God has allowed him certain authority in the earth, but he is still under God’s rule.

        And when he said this:

        And the devil, taking him up into a high mountain, showed unto him all the kingdoms of the world in a moment of time. And the devil said unto him, All this power will I give you, and the glory of them: for that is delivered unto me; and to whomsoever I will I give it. If you therefore will worship me, all shall be yours.
        (Luke 4:5-7)

        … he wasn’t lying to Jesus. It is the truth.

        It’s not the earth, God’s creation, that satan has authority over, it is wickedness itself, that he is lord over : “rulers of the darkness of this world”.

        Like

    • It’s good to sort through this stuff. I don’t know how satan got his kingdom going, but he does have one. We shouldn’t ignore that.

      …”for He rescued us from the domain of darkness, and transferred us to the kingdom of His beloved Son,” Col 1:12

      “If Satan casts out Satan, he is divided against himself; how then will his kingdom stand?” Matthew 12:25-27

      The kingdoms/domains are made up of the people who follow either satan or Jesus.

      The gospel is preached to turn people to the kingdom of God.

      ‘…to open their eyes so that they may turn from darkness to light and from the dominion of Satan to God, that they may receive forgiveness of sins and an inheritance among those who have been sanctified by faith in Me.’ Acts 26.17-19

      The dominionists’ way seems to be to get a hold of the ‘stuff’ of the kingdom of darkness and ‘take it back.’ God’s way seems to be redeeming PEOPLE OUT of the domain of darkness INTO His kingdom of light. From that point on we are in the world but not OF it. We are citizens of the kingdom of God, strangers in this world, looking forward to our home, but serving our King as long as we are here.

      Like

    • Hi.
      Actually this article was posted last year but I took it down for a time for some work. I often find similar writings around different blogs. For instance, last night I read an article on reformed traveler’s that got into this topic. 🙂 I see it as an encouragement that God wants that stuff out there! 🙂

      Like

    • Hi Teresa. NO!!!
      That is really bad. We certainly do not have the power over when we die and God is not bound by anything. Of course I am referring to the Most High God. Jesse’s got a different god than I/we do.

      Thanks Teresa. 🙂

      Like

  5. My husband and I went to a Charismatic church in West Virginia for 5 years. 2 years ago we moved to Wisconsin. For the past 9 years Jesse visits my old church. In 2007 and 2008 He said something that did not set right with me. He said from the platform that God has all power in heaven but no authority on earth, zero, zilch. 2007 it went over my head, 2008 it really caught my attention, I was so mad.
    I was in the choir, “mega choir” who travels with Morris Cerrulo, Perry Stone, praise team has been to Paula White’s church. ect…. Tommy Tenney was just there this past Sunday.
    2008 When Jesse said God told him to buy all the grave yards in his neighborhood, that Jesse was going to start raising people from the dead. Jesse said he has done greater works than Jesus, I wanted to raise my hand and call him a blasphemer but he has his security guards all over the Sanctuary. I walked off the platform and left. Next day I received a phone call as to why I left. My husband and I meet with the pastor to discuss this and he agreed with Jesse D. I had scriptures that said other wise and told him I was in the wrong church. I could not get a word in edge wise to disagree or to give him scriptures. I emailed him about the WOF/ NAR and what they believe and teach and never heard back. My old church are deep into this stuff and all I can do is pray.
    M’kayla, they believe God is bound and can do nothing on earth. God’s hand are tied behind his back, and God is on the outside looking in. You are right this is not the god of the bible, not the Sovereign God we serve.
    I want to show you a commercial with Jesse brother “Mark Duplantis” which is dominionism. Sadly, I am sitting right behind him, in the choir, and this teaching went right over my head because God had not opened my eyes yet. This commercial is about the five fold ministry.

    Like

    • Ha! It’s obvious they are brothers, isn’t it? It would be easier to believe that the five fold ministry is still in operation if they people operating in it would speak the truth. Again, it goes back to status; everyone wants a title and a following.

      Teresa, oftentimes pastors and other leaders don’t want to hear the truth or can’t accept it. They have so much tied up in their ministries and reputations, I am sure it makes it hard to stand before an entire church and claim wrong doing. I wonder what it would take to shake them out of it. Because in the end we are all treated the same before God, status or no.

      Thanks for sharing your story with us! 🙂

      Like

  6. When I e mailed my pastor with names, unsound doctrines they were teaching, buzz words they were using, it still did not jolt my old pastor.
    my husband and I left my old church in Sept 2007 to January of 2008 ( 4 months) because I was offended by the asst. pastor.
    Keep in mind that I thought I was offended but God had another plan. We left my old church and when to a female pastor’s church.
    All this woman did was prophecy over people, never preached the word or the gospel. She told me who her covering was and that he teaches the five fold ministry and so forth.
    She told me to look his name up and check him out. I did not check him out right away. Later and a woman conference the female pastor had, I heard and saw some really strange things that cause me great concern.
    I was already checking out the WOF, and decided to check out this man by the name of Bill Hamon, Christan International. Well, surprise, surprise. The New Apostolic Reformation.
    We left there in January because she gave a demonstration with a butcher knife and through it down the pew, I got my two children and left that day, never to return.
    We went back to my old church and they let us back in the choir. Well. to make a long story short, I remembered the Mark Duplantis teaching, and only to find out this junk was at my old Church the whole time and I did not have a clue.
    By the grace of God he show me the truth of what was wrong, then God opened my eyes and heart to the truth of his word.
    My old church is really mixed up in “the call” and the Vineyard movement, they promoted Todd Bentley from the platform and so forth. I am so glad God brought me out of the junk.
    Jesse Duplantis was the straw that broke the camel back for me.
    This when I found Bob Dewaay, Paul Washer, John MacArthur, Justin Peters, Let us Reason ministries, Deception in the Church, Moriel Ministries and the rest of you guy’s.
    M’kayla keep up the good work. Thank for letting me share.

    Like

  7. Hello Teresa,

    Whereabouts in WI? I’m from Milwaukee area, but have lived in Madison for years now. Your post reminded me of this Bill Johnson guy (Bethel) saying something similar…”God is in charge, but not in control.” That is a very conniving, deceiving statement loaded with an agenda, and it sounds eerily similar to all those of the WOF ilk. This guy at Bethel disguises it rather cleverly (or not so cleverly) to fit in with his signs/wonders/dominion framework.

    Like

  8. @Scott
    My husband is from Holmen WI. We moved here 2 years ago in August. Lacrosse County not far from Madison but a long way from West Virginia, LOL.
    WOF/NAR are “interwoven” that is for sure. Interwoven with a different twist, flavor or agenda.
    They have man-centered doctrines, all about man and what man can and needs to do for God. They think God can’t do it.
    I think Bill Johnson is WOF/ NAR. M’kayla would know if that is the case. I know who he is but I have never followed him or listened to him much.
    At my old church they are really big into this stuff. Eddie James, Todd White, Barbara Wentrouble, Jim Hodges, Joni Ames, all have been at my old church. There are some more just can’t think of anymore right now. The youth are really big into “The Call” Lou Engle.

    I thank the Lord everyday for leadin me and my family out of this mess.
    By God grace he opened our eyes and heart to his truth.

    Like

    • Yes Teresa. Bill Johnson is word of faith and part of the NAR. More than likely he is interconnected with those you named off altho I am not too familiar with them except Lou Engle. If they are on TV, or found on the Elijah List chances are they are involved in NAR/wof/false prophetic, signs and wonders, etc. There are different “streams” as they are referred to but are all part of the big polluted black river.

      The reason they think God can’t is because they are also part of what is known as Manifest Sons of God in which they have the same power and authority that Jesus Christ does and are evolving into a higher place of spirituality, becoming like God is. This is why there is the kingdom now/dominion theology that centered around the seven mountains mandate. Their intention is to take the world for the “kingdom” so that Jesus can return. In other words, and I have heard this said by Cal Pierce and Peter Wagner that believers have forgotten the true ways and so need to return and to the work of a true disciple, taking the world for Christ in this kingdom here on earth in great signs and wonders – the prophetic, healing, raising the dead, etc. so that he can return. So there again God’s hands are tied and he cannot “do” without our help. It is blasphemy. This is why they continue to call out for more anointing or for a higher level because what they desire has not yet been achieved. But this manifest sons thing appears when they begin to identify to have god-like powers. Some think they will become the “manifest” person of Christ on earth – the many membered man child – ending a reason for a second coming. In realilty they are paving the way for the anti-christ. After all, wasn’t it Lucifer who said he would sit on the throne of God, and told Eve she would become like God? Not much has changed in all these years. It’s just a little repackaged.

      It is a miracle to be delivered from this mess and witness the true work of the Holy Spirit. Bless the name of the Lord and may His praises be heard throughout the earth!

      Like

  9. Manifest Sons of God and the Latter Rain movement or the New Order of the Latter Rain. Yes, I am very familiar with there teachings.
    Barbara Wentroble and Jim Hodges are with the marketplace ministries. She does some conferences with Cindy Jacobs. I went to a Bill Hamon conference “once” and they were there together. Here is a link that will tell you all about her. http://www.internationalbreakthroughministries.org/pages.asp?pageid=32177

    Eddie James is a praise and worship leader that travels with “The Call” Todd White is also with the prophetic movement, kind of remind you of John Crowder. He is somewhat tamer that John. Joni Ames is with the Vineyard movement and is on Elijah’s list. These guy’s are dangerour but less popular than the other’s. Later my hubbie is home. Love Teresa

    There are to many of these guy’s and they are crazy!!!!!!!!!!!

    Like

  10. M’kayla
    I am not 100% sure but if my memory works correctly. I think Todd White is big with Patrica King, Extreme prophetic. I will check that out to make sure. Just more names (people) for us all to keep tabs on.
    Justin Peter’s says, if the mainline dominations has not been infiltrated with these teachings or these guy’s it soon will be. How true is that statement.

    Like

  11. I want to point out the focus of this article that dominion/power/rule was HANDED OVER. I put up all that scripture to show that it was not. I have no doubt or argument that Satan has power and some rule here on earth. But whatever he possesses is purely evil and not the same as the dominion Adam was granted by God.

    Like

    • dirkxon, speaking the truth is love. And we are called to judge teachings, prophecies…we simply must because it is the only way to know if a person is teaching the truth. And it is the only way we can warn others, another thing we are called to. Are you reading the bible or just listening to a hireling?

      Like

  12. Coming to this late I know but one thought I can’t get around where this whole idea of dominion is concerned is pretty simple.

    Apparently God created the earth and gave dominion to Adam, who sinned and in doing so gave dominion to the devil. Bill Johnson goes one step further and says Jesus came to take back dominion, which he accomplished at the cross, but that just seems like another weird twist to the theory. Either way, when Jesus walked this earth as a man what gave him authority to cast out demons? If they were the devil’s servants doing the devil’s bidding on the devil’s earth why didn’t they tell Jesus to go pound sand, or attack him they way they did the seven sons of Sceva in Acts 19?

    Throw in the concept that Jesus was just “a man in right relationship with God” (as Bill Johnson also teaches) and the whole thing becomes even more improbable.

    Like

    • Bill Johnson’s teaching brings Christ to the place of a man, rather than God incarnate, being both fully man and fully God and for which he truly is. This is another teaching of those before him who believe we are like little gods word of faith teaching- stemming from “As God is, so am I”, coming from the occult – Aleister Crowley, etc. As The Message states, “As Above, So Below”, in place of “On earth as it is in Heaven”….it is not taken from scripture, but occult teaching.

      Like

      • It’s terrifying how such glaring contradictions get overlooked. I never got into the movement but remember being jealous when a guy I knew went to Bethel, having read some Bill Johnson stuff. For me it was this guy seemingly going off the rails that alerted me that something was wrong.

        Like

Let's hash it -

