a burning

Acts 19:18-20

18 And many who had believed came confessing and telling their deeds. 19 Also, many of those who had practiced magic brought their books together and burned them in the sight of all. And they counted up the value of them, and it totaled fifty thousand pieces of silver. 20 So the word of the Lord grew mightily and prevailed.


I put up this blog to confess that I had been caught up in false doctrine and the false signs and wonders that accompany them, hoping that my honesty and warning would help others avoid or leave such practices and beliefs.

I soon learned, to my horror, that much of what I practiced is a lot like witchcraft and the practice of other religions, having no foundation in the word of God.

The amount of money I spent on books, CDs and training is nowhere near worth 50K but it was a good amount of cold hard cash.

It is my hope and prayer that my testimony to the truth will help others find the way out of charismania back to their true Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. There is no compromise.

And so the book burning begins –

Got Kindling?

Yes, there were marshmallows for toasting.

24 thoughts on “a burning

  1. Thanks M’Kayla for setting the example. It was important to your spiritual growth to renounce and get rid of these reminders of your deluded past.

    I do keep some books in my library but I clearly mark them “For Reference Only” so I can have them available to point out false doctrine.

    We have a friend who had a very valuable collection of Kachina figurines and when he was enlightened that this was wrong to have in his house, he took them out and destroyed them. This was a great demonstration of obedience to the Lord.

    Thanks again for sharing and encouraging others!

    Like

  2. M’Kayla, I noticed one of your books was Red Moon Rising. I purchased it because one of my children was encouraged to read it in conjunction with a discipleship program he was going through via the Boiler Rooms, started by the author of this book. I couldn’t get very far as I kept arguing “what does this have to do with the proclamation of the gospel?” So, is it full of mystical drivel as well? Love your blog.

    Like

    • Hi Julie.
      I never did read it all the way through. Something kept taking me away from it. But I did leaf through it to try to answer your question. It’s all about experiences – story after story, and not all of them are bad as the book does state people are being saved. OH, but they all do, don’t they? But there are also connections to the teachings, ideas and organizations to be avoided including Youth With A Mission and Lectio Divina. There are references made to Catholicism, and Brennan Manning. There are probably a lot more than what I found. For me, anything that promises a huge outcome is probably a lie. It makes me sad to see so many thinking they are doing the right thing, after all who can speak against prayer? But the book protects “different prayer methods”! There was a personal account of someone who felt so free in creativity that he wrote poetry all over the walls and wallowed on the floors.

      This is where the discernment comes in because we are all called to pray, but we are not taught differing prayer methods. We are taught to meditate on the word, but not in the same way as Lectio Divina – to read it and read it until a phrase or word pops into your head! We read the word over and again to understand it, to get it into our heads, considering and meditating on what we have read, not what we have imagined. And we can never carve out one word or phrase to meditate on! So, again, we see a little truth mixed in with the huge fat lie. And when we are all charged up, flying on emotion and experience we miss out in seeing the difference, missing the only clue that will lead to the truth. This is the undercurrent of charismania.

      Like

  3. I gathered some similar books up to take to the second hand store, but I couldn’t feel ok with that. They went to the garbage bin. A fire would have been a lot more fun. S’mores!

    I had a strange frenzied sort of grasping approach to reading all those books…. looking for special insight and knowledge…always coming away with some kind of fuzzy, vague ‘new’ concept. The best way I can describe it is that all those gnostic teachings came at the Word of God from some oblique angle. Never straight up, head on truth.

    The effect of the scriptures on my heart is so totally different -always straight as an arrow.

    Like

    • Yes, it is like a hunger that never gets satisfied. And it is not the same kind of hunger that comes from wanting to know the bible. It’s wanting to know the spirit realm. Just like you said, it IS gnostic.

      Thanks for commenting on that ruth! 🙂

      Like

  4. I did the same thing when I came out of the occult back in 1976. I handed over all my occult stuff to the people who led me to the Lord and they burned them for me. I had a lot too! Close to a few hundred dollars worth. I was surprised at how easy it was for me to get rid of it all.

    Like

  5. I also spent a lot of money on books, tapes and dvd’s through about a five year period,even though I had already been a Christian for 20 years at that point. I had that “check” in my spirit during the period of time I stepped over into these teachings,about some of the things I saw and heard. Praise God for his mercy on me, in helping me see the truth. I did not burn, but did throw away hundreds of dollars of this type of material. Time and money lost on following “false teachers” rather than the true living God.

    Like

  6. Hi,

    MK or anyone else – are any of you familiar with/read a book called “The God Chasers” by Tommy Tenney. If so, might you share a thought or two on it, pro/contra. Thanks so much, Scott

    Like

  7. I recently moved and when I went to put back books on the shelves – the WOF and NAR authors went in the trash. What remains are mostly reference works and commentaries written 150+ years ago 🙂

    PS – now you can really say “Fire, Fire” and mean it – LOL

    Like

  8. Fellow Christians,

    Before you burn or trash your books and materials, please consider donating them to Christian Research Service. While I can’t replace the money you invested, I will reimburse the cost of postage.

    Contact me at admin@christianresearchservice.com for further details.

    Thank you, and God bless,
    Bud Press, Director
    Christian Research Service

    Like

    • It is a good point Bud and I have reconsidered burning ALL of them. Amazon is a good resource for used copies and they are generally low priced.

      I will have to make the decision on which I want to keep and the rest I will be happy to donate to you for your work!

      Like

  9. Bud,

    You beat me to it! I plan on posting a blog post to ask individuals if they’d be willing to send this sort of stuff to me for research. However, I don’t know if I can match your offer of refunding postage given my current financial situation.

    Like M’Kayla recommended, I’ve been buying up some of the older books on the cheap at amazon, ebay, and other places.

    Like

  10. Even when I was still in the movement, I threw away a book someone gave me which was the first time I had ever done that. It was “Heaven Is So Real” by Choo Thomas. I think it was the beginning of me seeing the light. Pretty creepy book.

    Like

  11. Hello,
    God is good in so many ways. Having spent 20 + years in the church and after sitting under 5 pastors, the reality of those duplicate lives they lead has sent me on this search for the truth. Because of what I have been taught through the years I have come to the conclusion that there is so little truth in any of the pulpit and have become so critical of the pulpit. Because theopostics sent a flag in my spirit the church where I attend does a thing called sozo, which was curious to me. As I started to research for the biblical truths of such practices I came to your blog. Thank you. It confirms that my spirit is really directing me to look for the truth with all my energies…..again, thank yu

    Like

    • Hi Nancy.

      Thank you for the comment and the kind encouragement. I am glad to hear you avoided the inner healing methods accepted and practiced in many charismatic churches today. Theophostics and Sozo are both very dangerous! Closing Stages (on my blogroll sidebar) has done a three part (so far) piece on the Sozo of Bethel, which is much like the one I practiced.

      Like

Let's hash it -

