Letting Go

I was thinking this morning the non-ending chase this has all become. And it hit me this is the same chase the false prophets and apostles and revivalists put on their followers. With all that symbolism – the dreams, the visions, the numerology, the storms – that well passed around belief which tells them whatever happens in the flesh (or on the earth) also happens in the spirit realm. Every thing is a reason…and so it goes with them. Spinning and whirling from here and there looking for that hidden meaning of exactly what it is that God is trying to say to them.

No wonder so many are looking for a breakthrough or are in need of that next great prophetic word. No wonder they claim to feel spiritually stuck. They have been sent on some sickened treasure hunt for themes and meanings  based on “this is that”.  They are in need of the next great word from God so that they can make that decision they have been agonizing over. And so they go in search of a prophet, any prophet will do, anyone who has the ability to hear and speak for God on their behalf. And so they are always learning, never coming to the truth.

In Christ we are free. It is in admitting we are sinners before a righteous and Holy God, and asking for forgiveness. It is giving that same forgiveness to others who have hurt us, in the past as well as those who will hurt us in the future. It is in learning who He is by way of reading His word because this is the place in which God speaks. It is in being changed by His power through the indwelling of Him – the Holy Spirit. It is laying aside our hopes and dreams to take up the cross for the cause of Christ. For whoever loses his life for Him will find it. It is finally finding freedom from that spinning, dizzying chase to find that one meaning just out of reach, so cleverly hidden and authored by satan himself, and simply letting go of what we have held on to so tightly for so long…ourselves.

Matthew 16:24-26

24 Then Jesus said to His disciples, “If anyone desires to come after Me, let him deny himself, and take up his cross, and follow Me. 25 For whoever desires to save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for My sake will find it. 26 For what profit is it to a man if he gains the whole world, and loses his own soul? Or what will a man give in exchange for his soul?

20 thoughts on “Letting Go

  1. M’Kayla,

    You speak of letting go of ourselves.

    One of my Facebook frieds posted this devotional by Chuck Swindoll a few days ago:

    http://insightforliving.typepad.com/dailydevo/2011/05/a-major-in-discomfort.html

    It seems to me it fits in with what you are talking about here. He talks about God working to remove pride and resentment and bitterness that comes from holding unto our “rights” and expectations. It really spoke to some things I was dealing with, (and still am!).

    Maybe it won’t hit anyone else like it did me. But it was something I needed to be reminded of I know.

    Like

    • Yes, in a way it is the same. If we are to chase after every prophetic utterance, dream or symbol to gain something for ourselves, it is indeed pride and idolatry – chasing after another god.

      I am glad you are helped. 🙂

      Like

      • Hi annunk
        I am aware of Swindoll – sad! But, I let the link she posted remain because I didn’t see anything wrong with his writing there.

        A few weeks ago a friend of mine commented that she had been listening to him on the radio and that he had mentioned meditation. It got my attention, but we were poo-pooed by others listening. Later, I found the article from Lighthouse Trails and forwarded it to my friend to encourage her that her concerns were valid. It is amazing to me those who will not take notice of even the smallest hint of warning, always running to the defense of the famous one, rather than to the truth. It goes to show how much brainwashing has been accomplished to protect the “man of God”.

        It is good to point this out – read the article at insight for living with the knowledge of the direction Swindoll has taken.

        Thanks annunk.

        Like

  2. “For whoever loses his life for Him will find it. It is finally finding freedom from that spinning, dizzying chase to find that one meaning just out of reach, so cleverly hidden and authored by satan himself, and simply letting go of what we have held on to so tightly for so long…ourselves.”

    Oh my……..well said. There is simply too much to be said for just trusting in Christ. Letting go – reminds me of a song which is now stuck in my head!

    Like

  3. The song is called Letting Go and LIsa Marie Buster sang it years ago at an event I was at. It is on her Becoming CD. I keep hearing the “letting go, letting go part”. Thanks alot! LOL

    Like

  4. It is so hard to let go of ourselves, after all we are with this flesh of ours daily. Very hard to die to self. Still reeling after 4 years, still yearning for fellowship and friendships. I remember a situation from years ago when the Lord spoke to me about something and told me if I did it from a heart of love, I couldn’t be taken advantage of. I was telling Him tonight, I don’t seem to know how to love anymore. That is what I so long for again, and maybe I don’t know what that looks like anymore , not because He doesn’t love me ,And not because I have never seen it(my husband is one who always reflects Christ love to me) but because I have grown cold in my love. That is my hearts cry, to love one another as He has loved me.

    Like

    • The contrast is amazingly different when the focus is taken off ourselves and onto Christ. We consider all He went through, knowing full well up front, none of it was a surprise to Him. And still He loved them all. When we can finally grasp that our identity is in Christ it will no longer matter how another treats us, we will continue to love because we are His.

      Like

  5. Chasing after the next “in thing” or next prophetic word has little to do with seeking after God. God is looking for faithfulness over time. The true spiritual giants among us are those who read their bible and prayer faithfully every day for years.

    Of course it’s much easier to do a five minute devotional than to read and study the bible. I’m reminded of the hymn:

    My hope is built on nothing less
    Than Jesus blood and righteousness
    I dare not trust the sweet ‘frain
    But wholly lean on Jesus’ name

    On Christ the solid Rock I stand
    All other ground is sinking sand.

    Like

  6. I’ve been thinking about how Jesus says in John 3 that in order to see the kingdom of God, one must be born again. Our usual definition of being born again is to say the sinner’s prayer and accept Jesus as savior, etc.
    However, in order to be born again, there must be a process of death to what was.
    More and more, as I emerge from false teaching and turn to the Bible and good solid teaching, I find this amazing fact: the church has lost sight of Christ’s central teaching about dying to self and being transformed in Him.
    Charismania is all about self: dreams, destiny, what We do with God’s power and what God does for us! It’s exhausting and without rest.
    What did Christ do with God’s power? He submitted to the agony of the cross. In brokenness and humility–mocked, beaten, and crowned with thorns–he defeated the powers of darkness and broke the chains of death.
    He paid the price for our redemption, and he also showed us the way into the kingdom.
    Chuck Swindoll’s teaching is well said. The wilderness journey is rough, but I am finally learning to thank God in the midst of it. Here, I’m learning to face my pride and hypocrisy, my self glory, and call out for new life.

    Like

  7. M’K,

    Great post. Short and to the point. Also further proof that we are nearing ‘the time’ the Bible clearly pointed out when He would return for us.

    If the master of the house had known what hour the thief would come, he would have watched and not allowed his house to be broken into.

    It looks like a lot of people are allowing their homes to get robbed.. Dear Lord, please keep our eyes from deception.

    Like

  8. I guess I should of noted that I had heard Swindoll had fallen into that contemplative stuff when I posted that devotional. He is not someone I normally follow but do remember reading that about him.

    That particular devotional had spoken to me in a very powerful way and as it seemed related, I wanted to share that idea. I’m glad someone pointed out what I falied to.

    Isn’t it just the pits though that it is very hard to find anyone anymore to post from or recommend without at least a good warning about what else they are into?

    Like

  9. And Jesus came and spoke unto them, saying, All power is given unto me in heaven and in earth. Go you therefore, and teach all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Spirit: Teaching them to observe all things whatsoever I have commanded you: and, lo, I am with you always, even unto the end of the world. Amen.
    (Matthew 28:18-20)

    Most of the problem today is that Christians ignore Jesus command, sidetracked with everything else excpet the above.

    Like

  10. God made it simple seek Him and live. He gave us the Bible and the Holy Spirit to teach us all things … we want to make it so much more than that – and that is our downfall.

    We neglect what He has told us to do and go chasing after the next trend. Yes, let’s let go of it all – and embrace Him.

    Rachel

    Like

  11. Mk Kayla I happened upon your blog-keep up the good work, I have done some work in the area of the manifested Sons/latter Rain movement, and occasionally write articles about Bentley et al-at billrandles.wordpress.com God bless you and may the Lord resuce the many from this trap- pastor Bill Randles

    Like

    • HI!
      Early on your writing helped me tremendously. I linked your blog to my sidebar a few months back. Thank you for your contribution and honesty in your own experiences. What a blessing! Glad you stopped by! 🙂

      Blessed be the name of the Lord!

      Like

Let's hash it -

