He Speaks in the Thunder

Several days after the legalization of same sex marriage by the Supreme Court, what I have since come to call as the ruling of fools, there came a quite storm in my area. I watched from my balcony as it intensified, thunder so loud and so intense that I truly thought the earth was breaking in two. I love the sound of thunder and rarely has its sound ever made me afraid…but this time was different. This time that thunder scared me good. It made the hair on the back of my neck stand up, it gave me chills that stayed for a long time. It made me stop and take notice.

Through the thunder there came mighty bursts of wind and rain, which became quite cold and soon turned to hail, the wind blowing it in all directions across my balcony, catching in the trees, even tossing it down my tank top…(tmi….sorry…it was funny).

I do remember asking why He wasn’t throwing fireballs instead of the cooling rain and wind. And I know the time is not yet, though it comes. The storm brought fear and awe of the Most High God. I love a good storm and I believe He still controls the weather, no matter how slight, no matter how fierce. I used to struggle with that, now I no longer do.

At one point I looked up into the sky and the falling rain looked like drops falling onto a water puddle. The rain drops looked more like they were hitting water than they looked like they were falling, tho they were falling. I know this was an amazing play of light, and of all the rain I have seen, after nearly 10 years of living in Washington, where the rain never seems to stop,  I had never seen that before. It was an amazing sight. I was like a little kid seeing something wild for the very first time.

Then, I saw it. The rainbow in the sky, so profound and so timely, the beautiful colors shining though a grey and dim sky.   And then, not just the one, but two bows in the sky. It was the Creator’s one-two punch to all who could see, who could hear. I found myself on my knees in tears in absolute awe and fear of God…His love, who He is…what He has done…what He still will do…though we really can’t fathom. It was an amazing moment that moved me so deeply that there are not words to capture all I felt in those moments.

I would say that the things that are getting ready to take place, the things that have happened behind closed doors, the evil that men and women plan and do have not escaped the eyes of El Elyon, the Most High God.

There indeed is a storm coming and his holy bow will not be compromised. We know the rainbow to be beautiful and awe inspiring; we know it as His promise to not destroy the earth with rain again. (Genesis 9:13-18)  However, the bow is also known as a symbol for war.

It is He Who speaks in the thunder. Hear Him.

2 Samuel 22:14 The Lord thundered from heaven, And the Most High uttered His voice.

 

12 thoughts on “He Speaks in the Thunder

  1. Hi M’Kayla,
    In eastern PA we had a thunderous hailstorm like I have NEVER SEEN BEFORE IN MY LIFE & I am an older woman! It was so thick w/ hail that you could not see anything…like a whiteout. There was very much tree damage all over the area. I thought of how God is in control no matter how man messes w/ the weather & the storm reminded me of His JUDGMENT, which can come quickly in a moment of time! I called the decision “the decision from the UNSUPREME COURT OF INJUSTICE”!!! GOD WILL HAVE THE LAST LAUGH, WE KNOW, AGAINST THEM! At the same time, when I heard the decision I felt inside of me a STAND, an UPRIGHTNESS, THAT I MUST STAND IN, since now we realize, everything is CHANGED! Blessings on all those who are truth seekers & may awakenings come to those who are asleep. We need God’s mercy!

    Like

  2. Thanks M’kayla. It was in a thunderstorm in Darwin,Australia in 1971 that I was first acutely aware of God’s presence and His reality.It still took me about another 3 years to become a Christian.

    Like

  3. Thank you Dear Sister Our king of Kings will never let his children down. Our family had a similar experience with an earth quake in Napa. You know it opened up water systems in Napa and then just last week there were dolphins swimming in the Napa river right by the downtown area. May his glory of creative power fill all of our lives. A Warring Clan of Love A People of Power Electricity From On High Blessings to you and yours

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like

  4. I to have felt thunder that reminded me of God’s greatness, thunder witch brought the fear you describe. It reminds me of 2 Peter 3. But take notice of verses 10-12a “But the day of the Lord will come as a thief in the night, in the which the heavens shall pass away with a great noise and the elements shall melt with fervent heat, the earth also and the works that are therein shall be burned. Seeing then that all these things shall be dissolved, what manner of persons ought ye to be in all holy conversation and godliness, looking for and hasting unto the coming of the day of God…”

    This is our hope, and our vindacation! We must remain true to Christ, even unto death if that is required of us.

    Like

  5. Wow! I too agree that God’s judgement is at hand. It’s totally an in your face rebellious statement for them to use God’s promise as their banner. I don’t think that’s wise on their part to flaunt their sin and force it on everyone, as if that justifies it. We have lost our fear and reverence of a righteous and Holy God.

    Like

  6. This reminds me of Proverbs 9:10 – “The fear of the LORD is the beginning of wisdom, and knowledge of the Holy One is understanding” otherwise Romans 1:28 begins to apply.

    Like

Let's hash it -

