A Berean

Since the time the Lord brought me out of the false healing movement (International Association of Healing Rooms), the false prophetic and false dream/visions it has been my hope to help others see the truth. Through the leading of the Lord, his great love and mercy, I have seen that take place, time and again. During the past 8 1/2 years, I have learned a great deal and oftentimes the learning has been the result of the gifts and love of my brothers and sisters in Christ, most often than not, other bloggers as well as my readers.

For these moments I am deeply grateful as I have seen the Lord bring together believers who were, and still are without a meeting place. Yet, it was in the early days, between the months of April, 2008 and June, 2009 when I, like Mary, who sat at the feet of Jesus to learn because there was no where else to turn. And like before me, Simon Peter, and the woman with the vial of oil, I clung to him and only to him, uncaring of what others thought of me, because he has the words of eternal life (John 6:68, Luke 7:37).

When I first embarked upon this journey I had no real plan in place. I felt greatly responsible for the damage I had done and I wanted to set things right though I had no idea what that would look like. I realized my greatest downfall first, my own ignorance of the scriptures. Second, was my willingness to submit to others who I believed knew more than I did. I also acknowledge a big part of that willingness to submit was out of balance, and a trap of Satan to which many of us fall prey.

There do exist ideologies resulting from teaching that are not scriptural, yet they are taught by people who have a need for control and attention. They are taught to people who believe they are lowly and are in need of someone to reign over them. And though believers are admonished in scripture to search for the truth and to test the teachings of others, we do not. As we read these two verses in Acts 17, we find the result of that research is to find the truth and believe.

11Now the Bereans were more noble-minded than the Thessalonians, for they received the message with great eagerness and examined the Scriptures every day to see if these teachings were true. 12As a result, many of them believed, along with quite a few prominent Greek women and men.

We are responsible for our salvation and we are told to work it out in fear in trembling (Philippians 2:12). Again, we do not. And the resulting entrapment is of our own doing as we have allowed the father of lies to gain entrance into our lives and separate us from Christ who has set us free from the assignment of death.

Recently, as you have read, I had the experience of trusting a teacher I deemed to be from the Lord. As a group we were invited to ask questions and the result of our questions brought a storm against us that has not yet abated. Of late, we have been called feminists and Jezebels, and are accused of doing the work of Satan.

While I feel bad for people who have the need to control others, I will not stand for it. And I will continue to preach the one and only Jesus, the Messiah to as  many who will listen, male or female. I will continue to encourage healthy, doctrinal sound conversation here, held in the search for the truth, as bereans, as defenders of the faith, until such time as the Lord says to stop. Why? Because the it has been by the hand of the Lord that this blog came into being.  Together, we have grown and thrown off the wiles of the devil. It is the true work of a believer to make disciples. I believe there are many out there who still need to be pulled from the fire of charismania. As I have stated in the past, I will not wear a burqa. There is too much at stake.

Going forward, I will be looking at some very interesting and enlightening research regarding the roles of Christian women, written by men and women who not only know the scriptures, but understand the meanings, the culture and the events that took place during the times the scriptures were written. The omission of these important details have been the result of some very bad teaching regarding the roles of women.

Ideologies set by man, and their resulting bondage be damned. Literally.

Christ came to set us free and I will stand for that freedom.

 

23 thoughts on “A Berean

  1. M’Kayla,
    The word ‘delusion’ has been on my mind a lot. I hope to write on it in the future. I became a Christian in 1985 and was immediately immersed into ‘charismania’, as we like to call it. I didn’t know any better; the people around me pretty much didn’t either. There was no one to disciple me or even tell me these things were wrong. On the other hand, as time went on, I was encouraged to go further into wrong teaching by people who were themselves in wrong teaching. We, as a church, are so far into this mess, that there is a generation of believers who don’t even realize that what they’ve grown up on is twisted. Their minds cannot even comprehend sound, biblical teaching and doctrine. I cannot stress enough how different I am since coming out of this delusion. I literally got my mind back. I applaud you for continuing the fight; it really is a fight, not only for people’s souls but for their minds, their thinking. They can’t think straight. The delusion is so strong. No wonder Jesus said the way is narrow. I keep thinking about that, too.

    Like

    • Thank you my dear friend. We are blessed beyond comprehension! It wasn’t my intention to continue but I see the Lord telling me otherwise. The good part is the new focus will be more on Him and less on the crazies. I just had had enough of it, but then there is Jesus who so many are in desperate need. I am so glad to call you my friend and sister in this journey! Love you to pieces!

      Like

      • Thank you, I appreciate that! I haven’t gotten to ‘my story’ yet because, as you say, I kinda want to concentrate on ‘good stuff’; more on the Word and what I hope is good teaching. I will get to the other stuff, but I think people need Christ more than me.

        Like

  2. Oh Mkayla! Please keep posting! The Lord only just opened my eyes a year ago from all this emerging Christianity. Your blog was such a blessing. I thought I was all alone and it was the only place I could find where I could find fellowship and testimonies. Your words and research were a great asset to me. Please keep it up bc there are others who are awaking.
    Jen

    Like

  3. Hello Sister;
    I have been reading your writings for a number of years; and have faced similar struggles dealing with the false signs and wonders movement. I got a lot of criticism for speaking out against T. Bentley when he burst upon the scene, But you know, not one person later came back and said I guess you were using some discernment after all. Oh well.

    I sympathize with your current battle and know you will prevail through the love for the truth which is evidenced so strongly in your writings. One of the greatest struggles for me has been finding a balance of truth, and not throwing out the baby with the bath, so to speak. I remain a Spirit filled believer who believes the upper room experience is for today; but I both believe and preach that 90% of what claims to be ‘what God is doing in this generation’ is deception.

    I recently posted an article to my blog on the deception so evident in today’s popular ministries. I thought maybe it would be of interest to you.

    https://pbenson.me/2016/07/25/cotton-candy-prophets-and-the-road-to-rome/

    Blessings;
    Paul Benson
    P.S. Fair warning: I’m not into the pre-trib rapture myth (I can prove it’s a falsehood), or the modern Bible versions; and speak out very strongly against both.

    Like

  4. #Community
    #Unbelief
    #Jezabel #Rebellion

    Opinion / Comment
    I read this new Blog with surprise and intrigue.
    I’m especially interested to know what the false Healing Ministry is, and the other “inaccurate” teachings that you used to follow and what the new Truth is ?

    There is one thing that I have come to understand in my brief and short walk with the Lord, being that everyone has a different understanding of Jesus ( & God generally ).

    The overwhelming thing that I am now certain of, is that yes, there ARE people who claim to be acting on the message of the Lord (in whatever type of means they assert) and try to convince others of the truth of their own assertions. Almost always driven by their own pride. What a dangerous place.

    We can talk as much as we like, but unless we are able to actual “walk out” the Gospel, we’ll never be as effective as what the Lord wants of us. Draw all everyone together even when they are filled with their own prideful misunderstanding. Work with the common ground, not the differences. Lift each other up, not focus on the differences. Draw everyone into community by our actions, not our rebellion. Be kind, caring, yet firm with those who we ‘feel’ are filled with the Jezabel spirit and keep the door open for them to come back into the fold.

    Live our lives by the demonstration of the Gospel (not just talking about it).

    Thanks for your blog. Most interesting indeed.

    Like

    • Rowan, I’ve said nothing about a “new truth”. I rely on the bible in context for teaching. The false teachers I have exposed here do not. In addition, reading and studying the bible will not provide everyone with a different understanding of the Lord. There is only One –

      Ephesians 4:5 There is one body and one Spirit, just as you were called to one hope when you were called; 5one Lord, one faith, one baptism; 6one God and Father of all, who is over all and through all and in all.…
      I Corinthians 8:6 -yet for us there is but one God, the Father, from whom all things came and for whom we exist. And there is but one Lord, Jesus Christ, through whom all things came and through whom we exist.

      Like

      • Thanks for your wisdom.

        Its implicit from your Blog that you have arrived at a “new” Truth (at least that you have a new understanding now).

        I’m simply asking what the so-called “old” Truth was. I’m enquiring as to your “former” position, and where you are at today.

        Everyone who ‘claims’ to know the Lord will say that they are directed by Scripture, but it’s always their understanding of the Word that defines their understanding. It’s the interpretation that they take with them, that defines their understanding.

        Like

      • Hi nancypenn

        Thanks for your response.

        Maybe the term ‘the Gospel’ ought to read ‘the Word’ – to those who are better educated about Scripture, however in broad terms it means what Jesus taught us.

        As for its meaning of “walking it out” – that comment refers to us “living” or “walking” the teachings of the Lord on a day by day basis.

        I’m constantly reminded of two things (primarily)
        (1). That we are unable to “earn” Salvation – no good works will get us into Heaven, and
        (2). That many many Christians are as carnal as those in the world.

        I often remind myself about what was the most significant one thing that happened to the Jew who found himself in the ditch ? – [ Luke 10: 30-37] the responses I get from my brothers and sisters are astounding….

        We need to WALK the way that the good Samaritan ‘walked’ all day, everyday.

        Like

  5. Luke 11
    34 “Your eye is like a lamp that provides light for your body. When your eye is healthy, your whole body is filled with light. But when it is unhealthy, your body is filled with darkness. 35 Make sure that the light you think you have is not actually darkness. 36 If you are filled with light, with no dark corners, then your whole life will be radiant, as though a floodlight were filling you with light.”

    Upon receiving my first Bible, I didn’t want to ‘damage’ or write in it. (Unlike my days at Uni – when I would rip irrelevant pages out of my textbooks). However, I was travelling with one of the first two Missionaries that I ever met – when I came across this Scripture (as he was driving). When I asked him about it, he was stunned and wanted to read the Scripture for himself, so he pulled over and read it for himself. Then he tried to explain it to me.

    It was clear that he didn’t have a clue, but because I was a new Believer, I ‘entertained’ his views.

    This was the very first Scripture that I marked in my new Bible (with a pencil) and is still one of the most important passages in my Bible for my pathway to my understanding of the Kingdom.

    Like

  6. Thank you for your blog and especially this article. Sometimes I feel very alone in my mission to open people’s eyes to false teachers. Please keep writing on this subject. It is badly needed.

    Like

  7. Hi M’kayla. As always I appreciate your writing on exposing false teaching.I am a little concerned re the issue of women in the Church and that being a focus ongoing for you. My formative Christain years were spent in a Church I considered the best place I would like to be as a Christian.There was wonderful teaching about all the Gospel. There came a time though when we had a new Pastor who was a little controversial but a wonderful man of God.When I say controversial he had some views that others didn’t. I loved him dearly. And yet this issue of women’s role in the Church was mightily used by satan to split the Church in two.
    Good,God’s people writing lengthy manifestos as to the pros and cons.
    There wasn’t much love in those statements.
    The Church never really recovered from that. It had been a mighty beacon for Christ in our city.
    We had a saying in our churches that you may have heard before that goes something like this. “In things that were essential and clear in the Bible, Unity, in things that are not clear, Liberty.” I mean by essential, things where the scriptures leave us in no doubt whatsoever as to their meaning and importance..It broke my heart for a while,what happened to our Church, and still does after nearly 40 years.I am more with you on this issue but I just issue caution. I too look at some prominent current teachers and am concerned and in disagreement with some of the things they say,but I am thankful for what they do bring to the table. I agree with you Jesus came to set us free and he does. The truth only sets us free if we walk in the Light.
    Many who speak well and are servants of God, are not necessarily “free” even though they might be saved. God bless. Geoff.

    Like

    • I don’t see where this topic has been ongoing for me, other than the fact that I am a woman, and, like other women in my situation, we suffer under the heavy-handed, false teachings of the church regarding the roles of women. As I explained, the events and culture of the first century church have not been given a thought, and instead, we are basically told to shut up and sit down. Enough is enough.

      Like

    • Geoff,

      This issue of “women in the church” is clearly something which is, has and will, cause debate and division long after we’ve gone.

      Some important things to reflect on is that Jesus never had a woman Disciple. The wife is not the head of the household.

      I subscribe to this Blog because I find the topics discussed here bring important issues up for discussion.

      I don’t have any opinion whatsoever regarding “women” per se, but I find some women bring and make an important contribution to the Kingdom.

      The Lord has an excellent plan for all who have the Kingdom in their hearts.

      Like

  8. Pingback: A Berean — m’kayla’s korner | veldaville

  9. Pingback: “When good men do nothing, they are no longer good.” | Closingstages

Let's hash it -

