greatly troubled

Yesterday I had quite a disturbing conversation with some people on facebook, some who are Christians yet no longer stand for the truth found in the scriptures. Instead, they look to appease the masses with flattering words and excuses for sin. The falling away that I witness never seems to become the standard; it always brings shock to my spirit. Today I remain greatly troubled.

This morning I found the following in the facebook feed and felt it more than fitting for what I witnessed yesterday.

Thanks again Reformed Traveler. 🙂

Never In Jot Or Tittle Sell The Truth

Posted on May 13, 2011 by thereformedtraveler

Image by Eddie Eddings-Facets of Grace

“All compliance with that which we know to be erroneous and unscriptural is a form of bowing the knee to Antichrist, and should be loathed by every follower of the Lord Jesus. Union with unsound churches, and compliance with unscriptural ceremonies stain the integrity of many. In many shapes, in our own land, we are tempted to yield …up the completeness of our faith, or withhold our testimony against error; but in any form and from any quarter, this temptation is always to be resisted as we would resist Satan himself. We have no more right to give up truth than to give away our master’s property. Trimming and temporising, amiable silence, and unfaithful compromises are treasons to God, and are devices of the devil to obtain space and place for the propagation of falsehood, of which he is the father; but decision for truth sees through the enemy’s craft, and disdains to yield him so much as a single inch of vantage ground.”

“Nor is it enough for us as believers in the Lord Jesus to be separate from false churches; we must bear our witness for the doctrines of the Word of God; we must cry aloud and spare not, for the times are full of danger, and need bold and living testimonies for the kingship of Jesus and the simplicity of his gospel. He who turns his back on Christ is a coward of the basest sort. He who minces matters to please a flattering world is unworthy of the kingdom! Speak out, act honestly, and if need be suffer for so doing; but never in jot or tittle sell the truth or prove traitor to conscience. The Holy Spirit is to be sought unto to inspire in us the courage which endures unto the end.”

Excerpt from Simon the Pedlar by C. H. Spurgeon
From the January 1866 Sword and Trowel

(emphasis mine)

24 thoughts on “greatly troubled

  1. Excellent post. I read this and immediately rememebered a saying I’ve heard many times over from others when I’ve attempted to disuade them from believing and following the messages of heretics: “Chew the meat and spit out the bones.”

    Sorry, but there are no bones in my God’s Word. Strictly meat.

    That is much like what you’re saying here: Stop at the 1/2 way point, agree with what you agree with and just “put up” with the rest of it.

    Like

  2. Mkayla, those of us who stand for truth and count the cost have a friend in Jeremiah – what grief and heartbreak he suffered at the hands of those who professed to believe, NOT the unbelievers!

    I too never cease to be amazed at how deep and invasive the apostasy is and has gone. Every time it happens I wonder how much longer?

    Just wondering if you have been following Roger Oakland about the horrible accusations he has had to endure at the hands of a Calvary Chapel pastor. If not, please go to his website at http://www.understandthetimes.org and watch the video of his prefacing remarks regarding his 12/31/2010 visit to a Calvary Chapel. It is a REAL eyeopener of what can happen when one pursues the truth and speaks out about it. He is actually accused of blaspheming the Holy Spirit!!

    Keep the faith friend and cling to the Rock!!

    Like

  3. Hi there M’Kayla,
    I know the pain you feel. I believe it is one of the surest signs that one is a lover of the truth, as per 2nd Thess. 2:10. It grieves us to hear Christians effectively deny that truth!

    One of the things that I find the most hurtful, is that my wife of 30 years, from whom I am separated (at her insistence, after many years of infidelity on her part), will invariably label me ‘judgemental’, or ‘intolerant’, or ‘legalistic’, in my insistence that the Truth is not to be diluted, abridged, added to, or otherwise debased, but must remain always the only and absolute standard by which we measure everything.
    I can’t blame her, she has learned this from the very people I myself trusted as fellow Christians for many years. My lack of discernment has brought us to this point. That is not to wink at her behaviour, just an acknowledgement of my own failure to safeguard our marriage.

    The folks at that church, in line with the majority of churches today, teach the line that we are not entitled to make any moral judgements of other people’s behaviour, because of Matt. 7:1; “Judge not, that ye be not judged…”

    Of course our hearts must always be examined in the light of the Truth of God’s Word, as a priority, bearing in mind that we can only stand in that light by faith in the grace of God toward us, in that Jesus died for our sins and rose again. In other words, we will always fall short somewhere, but if we repent of that and ask forgiveness for the sin, He is faithful to forgive us.

    One of the biggest lies that Satan has managed to get many Christians to swallow, is that because we aren’t perfect, we are then forbidden to identify sin in anyone else, but that’s not scriptural.

    As long as we are not being hypocritical, the words of Matthew 7:1 don’t apply to us. As long as we examine our own heart first, and esteem our brother or sister greater than ourselves, approaching the subject with humility and with love for them as our motivation for bringing it up, there is no offense against God or man.

    If a person insists on sinning in defiance of the conviction of the Holy Spirit, He will leave that person eventually and they will become apostate. It’s another lie of the enemy, that we shouldn’t identify apostates and avoid them, although the scriptures say we should do exactly that. We are actually REQUIRED to use such judgement, or discernment, in the very same chapter of Matthew that I mentioned above; chapter 7.

    Another lie is that as Christians, one of our biggest priorities should be unity. This is not scriptural either. Jesus said He came to bring division in Lu. 12:51. Truth divides because it is exclusive, not inclusive. ALWAYS.
    Think about it; If I make a statement that the world is a sphere, I have just excluded everyone who doesn’t believe that. The statement Jesus made, that no-one can come to the Father except though Him, is extremely exclusive and therefore brings division, not unity.
    Truth is and always should be our highest priority, because it’s something God identifies so closely with, that Jesus calls Himself THE TRUTH.
    It will cost us more and more as time goes by to love the Truth above all else, but it will keep us from being deceived for one thing, and it will be worth it in the end.

    Shalom,
    Alan.

    Like

    • Hi Alan.

      Thank you for your heart and your honesty. It is truly sad to hear your situation regarding your marriage. I think the biggest problem in Christianity is that we were never taught how to study the scriptures. Maybe had we been taught that rather than all this other stuff that has no proper place, the outcome would have been different.

      The pastor at the church we just left had that “unity” mentality as he believes we come together for what unites us rather than what divides us. It is his way of letting in what should not be. And as you pointed out, as I attempted with him, the bible states something completely the opposite!

      Part of me is angry that people speak wrongly of scripture and part of me fears for their eternity. Sadly, what I witnessed on fb yesterday is just a taste of what is to come. And it will not be thru the computer, but face to face. I keep thinking of the crowds who wanted the murderer Barabbas released instead of Jesus who had no crime. It will be much like that.

      Like

  4. “Sadly, what I witnessed on fb yesterday is just a taste of what is to come. And it will not be thru the computer, but face to face.”

    and I think it IS just a taste. i just pray that if i have to face real persecution, all these little tastes will prepare me to stand faithful.

    at the same time realizing God is not somehow more on ‘my side’ than a brother or sister who is caught up in what i was caught up in only a little while ago.

    God is truth. He is on the side of truth (if He can be described as being on any side.) If i understand anything, it is by His grace alone. But i had better be willing and humble enough to examine myself as to standing in truth and at the same time bold enough to stand up FOR the truth.

    Looking forward to your new direction here, M’Kayla and glad the ‘old’ posts are staying up for those questioning the half-truths they have embraced. This has surely been a helpful blog for me. Thanks.

    Like

  5. I’ve had a similar thing come up lately. It can sometimes be difficult to stand up for absolute truth in the midst of partial truths mixed with compromise or flat out heresy/error.

    And, yes, I do believe it will keep getting worse and worse; and, my opinion is that this will escalate exponentially as we get closer and closer to His coming which I believe may well be in the somewhat near future. Hallelujah!

    Like

  6. M’kayla, you know when you wrote about being tired of chasing every wolf, every false teacher, every lying prophet to report their newest twisted and concocted revelations, their false teachings, their forced and fleshly signs and wonders, it made me think back to the time when it finally dawned on me that I did not have to be in Joyce Meyer’s meetings or Third Day’s Concert, or the Billy Graham’s Jr “megathon of meetings to teach Christians how to evangelize,” in order for me to be in tune with what was going on “in the spirit realm”, in order to catch the “wave” of the spirit, or better said, that I not “miss” the “wave of the spirit.” It was a day of freedom for me, a day when I finally quieted down and found a peace I had not had since I was saved. What a relief to finally figure out that I could have revival by myself, in my own heart, just God and me. What a relief to figure, I had enough of the Lord and the Spirit of God that I did not have to worry that I was going to miss out by not being in certain meetings or at least not getting their tapes. I remember when many of the big name preachers started to talk about these huge facilities “God “was telling them to build, huge convention centers where people could fly in from all over to hear these great man of God speak. I remember thanking God that I was free, while being irritated with the preachers who refused to let up on finding new ways to herd the people in, making them dependant on them and having new ways to squeeze more money out of them. I finally stopped riding the merry go round of going from here to there to get the latest spin on the spirit. I thank God I did, because I believe that is what has led to all these streams of thought finally coming together, where ministers I never would have thought would fall for all this New Age garbage, this emergent church garbage, this universalism garbage, this yoga, contemplative prayer garbage. All this going here there and everywhere caused us to approach Church like a buffet and it gradually became ok to accept a little of this and a little of that and a pinch of this and a dash of that from dishes, and plates and bowls served up from who knows who and who knows where. It no longer mattered. If it sounded good, tasted good, or felt good it had to be good.

    What the Lord’s Word had to say about it was secondary and up for debate. “What do you think that scripture means? Oh, that is good! And you, what do you think it means? Oh, that is cool! I never looked at it that way! Wow. That is something to think about. Yeah, I really like that!” And down the drain went the real food, while garbage was being served to the fat and happy, who mainly wanted to eat, no matter what it was. It got to the point where it really hardly mattered although the sweeter the better.”

    And today, M’kayla, if I did not know the Word of God, I’d think there was something terribly wrong with me. Because there is very, very, very little that I can fully stomach any more. I am shocked at almost every turn. When I think something is solid, than boom, I am blown away again and the absolute lack of desire for “men of God” to do the hard thing, to make the hard choice, basically to do the biblical thing in given situations. So I find I have to make it a point to guard against getting too down about it, because if I were to get into my emotions about it, I might just discard what I know the word to say and end up just like the rest of them, doubting that a loving God would EVER send so many people to hell. I mean as I look at it, the way is reallllllly narrow and few find it. And the way to destruction is huge and soooooo many seem to be choosing that path like never before. I must guard my heart with all diligence for out of it flows every issue of life. I must guard it by clinging to the Word of God about every issue in life. I must guard it by letting God through His Word train my senses to discern good and evil when it comes to any thing and anyone and not flinch when others misinterpret that to mean I am judging. I must guard my heart by continuing to renew my mind to God’s word, by letting his thoughts become my thoughts, by deciding I will agree with His Word for the truth is two cannot walk together unless they agree. Jesus said, if you love me you will love My Word. He went on to say, if you love me you will keep My Word.

    If I am going to walk with God, I must agree with His Word. And the greatest part of all of this is that if I will continue to stand on His Word and Agree with His Word and strive to keep it, pressing towards the mark of the high calling that is in Christ Jesus Our Lord, I will get there! And finally see Him face to face!
    My human mind and emotions find it hard to believe so many people will miss it! So, I guard myself from falling into that humanistic, lovey,dovey garbage that God is not capable of sending so many to hell. I guard my heart that I too, not in jot or title, sell the truth and buy a lie instead. I pray I will be found like that man who found a treasure hidden in the field, who went and hid it again, and for joy over it he went and sold everything he had to buy that same field so he could possess that treasure, the Kingdom of God, Jesus, the Pearl of Great Price.

    Like

  7. Amen to your comment, Karen. You are not alone. I have been thinking the exact same things….about the narrow way and the few that find it. Your 3rd paragraph says many things I have also been thinking about and praying for understanding.

    All who are born again will continue to walk with God and love His truth. He puts that desire for Him and Him alone in us and gives us the faith to believe Him…to believe His word. We will have our ups and downs and may even fall into deception for a time- but He will search for His sheep and bring us back into His sheepfold….for His glory. He is our Great Shepherd. He will and must care for us! He has bought us with the great price of His blood and He owns us. Why would He not care for us to the very end? He will. We can be confident of that. 1Peter 1:3-10. Kept by His power. Thankful.

    Like

  8. What the Lord’s Word had to say about it was secondary and up for debate. “What do you think that scripture means? Oh, that is good! And you, what do you think it means? Oh, that is cool! I never looked at it that way! Wow. That is something to think about. Yeah, I really like that!” And down the drain went the real food, while garbage was being served to the fat and happy, who mainly wanted to eat, no matter what it was. It got to the point where it really hardly mattered although the sweeter the better.”

    Amen! I am so tired of “bible studies” where everyone is asked their opinion of what a passage means. Frankly, I don’t give a *arn what they think unless they have studied up on that passage and have something valuable to add.

    Like

  9. I joined Facebook later than most of the people I know. I was in for a shock. It would say it rocked my faith as much as anything ever has.

    For several years I attended church with what appeared very godly people. Sunday school, home groups, prayer meetings etc. People I looked up to as “pillars of the faith”.

    Once I joined Facebook and “friended” my fellow church members, I saw provocative photos of themselves, racist comments, hateful tirades, etc. It was easy to put on a face at church, but on Facebook I guess I saw the “human” side of people.

    Like

    • JSST, I am SOOOO glad to hear someone speak out on this. Facebook is “the thing” to do and if you don’t you are just outta the loop to the point of feeling ostracized. E-mail is old-school and passé. This is what has happened in my church. Everyone is abuzz on Sunday morning chatting it up as they have been doing so with their Facebook friends all week. It turns people into groupies, a mega-clique of sorts, who have their little farms and their zoos and their inane “likes” and I have found nothing that glorifies the Lord. I refuse to join Facebook just on principle. In all the Facebook pages I have perused I have found absolutely nothing of eternal value. But it DOES show a side of people that JSST was talking about. I have seen the Bible listed as a “Like” then followed by a false teacher’s ministry, followed by some stupid secular trash.

      Like

      • FB is like anything else on the internet – there are good uses and not so good ones, and then there are the downright evil ones. I can’t speak completely against FB altho I have seen some things on there that I wished I hadn’t. But keep in mind we live in a fallen world that is becoming more sinful and pagan by the moment. On FB I have reconnected with friends and family, seen some nice photos, heard family news, received and sent birthday greetings and heard 2 nieces sing. Well, the list can go on and on, but you see what I mean there. It is all a matter of choice as life usually is. The things that I find greatly offensive I simply shut off. This can be done on the fb wall as it can the television. I am grateful for that option! I have to wonder if the chat session I spoke of had taken place around a dinner table, or say in a restaurant, would I still be living today? Lots of hate going on, and I wonder about those steak knives…:)

        Like

  10. When FB becomes an exclusive little club among CHRISTIANS, and others who choose not to participte are ostracized, than that is dividing the Body.That is a rationalization that I find rather unbiblical. If there are not other ways to reconnect with others, then God help us!!

    FB has become an idol for many Christians and that is wrong. It downgrades PERSONAL communinication.

    I have had to learn of family members news second-hand because I am not on FB. It is either join the club or suffer the consequences. I would consider that thoughtless and inconsiderate.

    Like

    • I am sorry and agree with you that it should not be a club for Christians. How silly! I know that you have problems regarding fb as you have voiced them before. But, let’s try to stay on topic, which is not facebook itself, but the denial of Christ by one who claims to be a Christian and the backlash of hatred when speaking the truth.

      Like

  11. Duly noted. Sore Thumb brought up FB so I thought it was open for discussion. Threads have been known to morph and drift…………….:-). This IS your blog and you call the shots.

    Yes, it is a sore subject for me and I don’t want to harp on it. I was just hoping for affirmation, but guess I am in the minority……………..

    Blessings………………

    Like

    • Yes, they do have a way of morphing, but I don’t think fb holds a candle to the importance of this topic and I didn’t want it to go in that direction. I can understand how you feel tho.

      You be blessed too.

      Like

  12. M’kayla, I want to apologize if I sounded insensitive to the pain you felt after your experience on Facebook the other day. I explained how I guard against having similar pain, but did not affirm yours. The whole nature of where we sit, where we stand, causes great shock and pain regarding the falling away that we are observing right before our very eyes. What fear we have for them, what alarm that they might miss heaven, what concern that it is spreading like wild fire among the Church. Yes it is painful and heartbreaking. And yes we do live in a fallen world and we should expect much of the of sin around us, but truly, the fact that the world is leaking and now seeping like stinking raw sewage from a septic tank into the beautiful grounds and gardens where we have been living and growing and serving and worshipping the Lord is vexing to a Godly man’s spirit. The stench is literally driving us away from our home, our home churches that is, where we once had the great privilege hearing “all” the Word of God which “ is inspired by God and profitable for teaching, for reproof, for correction, for training in righteousness; that the man of God may be adequate, equipped for every good work. (II Tim 3:16) “ And around that truth, we found our fellowship with others who believed those same things and the God added to the Church daily.

    Even Jesus drew huge crowds. But once He began to share His heart, once He began to speak His Word, most of those that came “packed up their bags and left, saying “ I’m out of here. This guy is a nut.” His words cut to the heart and most hearts could not handle the truth. “And this is the condemnation, that the light has come into the world, and men loved darkness rather than light, because their deeds were evil. 20 For everyone practicing evil hates the light and does not come to the light, lest his deeds should be exposed. So obviously, if you are going to try to keep those same guys around, you cannot preach a message that will cut to the heart or they just will not come because they do not want their evil deeds exposed. . If you get too personal, if you hit too close to home, if you get too convicting, “they will pack their bags and leave.” So because the world has begin to seep in and people crave numbers, crave something big, crave being accepted, the Word of God has been dumbed to accommodate them and now the lust of the eyes, the lust of the flesh and the “boastful” pride of life is being exalted. And they love it and keep coming back for their weekly time of fellowship with the masses for their warmed up pigs in a blanket, brownies, coffee delight, and bread of every kind, except the Fresh Manna from Heaven.

    It is heartbreaking to see people who are struggling with problems, come for help, but when they chew on the Words that you give them long enough, they finally spit them out and go find someone else who has dumbed down the Word of God enough so they can continue in their sin with no fear and trembling about the future. They want to believe that God’s greatest requirement is Love. And they want you to love, love, love them into heaven. Yes, God is Love, however, if God’s greatest characteristic is Love, than why are the angels not around the throne crying Love, love, love is the Lord, God Almighty?
    Instead in Revelation 4:8 “Each of the four living creatures had six wings and was covered with eyes all around, even under his wings. Day and night they never stop saying: “Holy, holy, holy is the Lord God Almighty, who was, and is, and is to come.” And in “Isaiah 6:3 And one cried unto another, and said, Holy, holy, holy, [is] the LORD of hosts: the whole earth [is] full of his glory. I Pet 1:6 Because it is written, “Be ye holy; for I am holy.” Hebrews 12:14 Follow peace with all men, and holiness, without which no man shall see the Lord.” Yes, God is peace. Yes, He is our righteousness. Yes, He is our redeemer. Yes, He is Love. Yes, He is in control and so on. Yes, He is Jehovah. Yes, He has many names and many characteristics, but they can all be summed up in one word, HOLY. All of who He is wrapped up in the word HOLY. The angels worship Him crying Holy, holy, holy is the Lord, and when we get there, and even now, we cry Holy, holy, and holy is the Lord. IIf we are truly going to love we must first walk in Holiness. If we are truly going to walk in peace, we must first walk in His holiness. If we are to have His Joy, we must first walk in His Holiness. If we are to have self-control, we must be walking in His Holiness. I f we are to have patience or gentleness we must walk also in Holiness. Without Holiness, we can not walk in Love, or Peace or Patience, etc.(the fruits of His spirit.) Without Holiness we allow our flesh to reign and when our flesh is on the Throne we are not like Him. When our flesh is on the throne we are selfish, we cannot walk in His Spirit. But when we walk in His Spirit, when we walk in his Holiness, His fruit are manifest in us, we are like Him and others will see Christ in us. But how can this possibly happen without the True Convicting Word of God? It can’t , so we are left observing Sheep just falllliiinnn awaaaaaaaayyyyy, one after the other off a high cliff, the one behind, just following the one in front, right off a high cliff into the unknown. This is just very disturbing I do not want to sit back and just watch it happen. II hope as time gets shorter, God will send them our way or us their way so that some of them can turn back!!!

    Like

    • Karen, I didn’t take your message as insensitive. That day wasn’t as much about me (even tho it affected me) as it was the falling away – those who would deny Christ and the foundation of scripture to do what is right in their own eyes, what feels good, sounds good, makes them feel accepted and wanted by others. It is the emerging structure of world wide spirituality.

      Like

  13. In the second paragraph, I meant to write, the Word of God has been “dumbed down” to accomadate them. Thanks,karen

    Like

  14. That’s cool. I just spent many a year in the faith movement spouting off answers without taking time to also show compassion for the real struggles people were going through. I just don’t want to fall back into that pattern. Thanks, Karen

    Like

  15. Karen,
    Much of what’s wrong in the “faith movement” is that God’s holy Word is treated as though it was some incantation. Speak over this, declare that, call things that be as though they weren’t! But lost in all those words is remembering our Lord’s sovereignty – and forgetting that He is God!

    There’s a lot of deception in the body of Christ… p.s Just like the song goes…”they’ll know we are Christians by our love, by our love, yes they’ll know we are Christians by our love…”

    A lot of “really great teaching camps” talking the talk but are lacking on the walk..

    Like

Let's hash it -

