The Cycle of Violence and Abuse

It’s been quite some time since I posted anything regarding violence and abuse. I have read that that abuse and the number of its victims has increased since the imposed Covid19 lockdown, and wanted to offer some help for anyone out there who may need it. 

If you are in a dangerous situation please get in touch with the National Abuse Hotline by calling 800-799-7233 or contacting the informational website and chat line even if you don’t feel that you are ready to leave. There is help available. Please don’t let your fear cause you to become a statistic!

It is of the utmost importance that you understand that abuse, no matter the form is not God’s will for your life no matter who you are. You are not responsible for the actions of another person regardless of your gender, age, or religion!  As a Christian woman, it is not your calling to stay in the home to save your husband, even though you may have been told this by clergy. That is a lie. 

The cycle of violence isn’t always something everyone understands. However, the more you study it, the more you do understand. The cycles of violence happen when a cycle of events happens in an abusive relationship.

The stages don’t all happen at once and it’s not all done the same way in each relationship. Sometimes it can happen within a couple of hours, while other times, it may take up to a year to complete the cycle. Continue reading to understand the cycle of violence.

The Cycle of Abuse

The following link is a blog dedicated to the awareness of domestic voilence and church abuse written from the perspective of a born again Christian woman. 

Because It Matters, Freedom From Abuse

1 thought on “The Cycle of Violence and Abuse

  1. I have a testimony about this issue. I hoped it was all over, but something reared it’s ugly head again and pushed me back on the ‘disbelief/shock’ end of the cycle.
    It’s through escaping the cycle of generational abuse that I figured out a way of explaining about carrying one’s cross.
    Despite what many church leaders teach, your cross to bear is never onerous. Your cross is light, beautiful and freeing – and there’s a knack (in keeping with scripture) to knowing how to carry it.
    My present big hope is that I will hop off the vicious cycle before I reach the ‘anger’ stage again! I can do it, if I carry my cross.
    Please email me Mkayla?

    Like

Let's hash it -

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.